Recipes

Crispy sesame sriracha cauliflower wings

This is one of the scrummiest dishes in my list of favourite scrummy dishes. Its super easy, if slightly faffy, and it will leave you will a tingly mouth and a happy happy tummy! Perfect for a cold friday evening, curled up on the sofa with a cold beer and a film!

As always, please dont forget that this recipe is not set in stone. You change it as your mouth needs it. You might want only a tea spoon of sriracha and lots of soy sauce. You are the one eating yours, you make it taste the way you like it! This is just the way I like it!

I’ve listed the ingredients in two parts: the batter and the sauce. When you are getting your things together, measure the batter ingredients into one bowl and mix. then measure your sauce ingredients into one bowl and mix. You will then heat this up when your cauliflower is battered and hot. I dont want you to use lots of dishes to measure out all the individual ingredients when you dont need them!

This recipe calls for One half of a head of cauliflower. I still had a lot of batter left, so i would make your batter up in a left overs box (lock & lock, tupperware, ice cream tub, what ever you use) so you can just put it straight into the fridge and perhaps use it tomorrow. Maybe crispy battered mushrooms and tofu in a salt and pepper miso sauce? oh! that sounds delicious! I better create it now! anyway…..

Batter

  • 1/2 cup of flour (I used plain gluten free flour)
  • 1/2 cup of soya milk. (If you do use almond milk, just like the pancakes, remember that it is slightly thicker, so i would suggest 1/4 almond milk and 1/4 water)
  • 1 teaspoon of Garlic powder.

Sauce

  • 1 tablespoon of sesame oil
  • 2 tablespoons of garlic (I use the lazy ready minced garlic in a jar, because I use garlic nearly every day I just am not about to peel and mince it ever day. I’m lazy, I happily admit that!)
  • 1/4 cup of soy sauce (don’t forget that light soy sauce has a stronger flavour to regular soy sauce,  so if you add too much light and you don’t know, its really salty! I have made that mistake!)
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 1/8 cup of apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4 cup of rice wine vinegar
  • 1/4 sup of sriracha (or more, if you like it spicy. I usually add more to this, I live and breathe sriracha though!)
  • sesame seeds to sprinkle over the top.
  • Cornflour slurry (to thicken the sauce. one tablespoon of cornflour and two tablespoons of water, mixed together into a little white sauce)

 

Method

Make up the batter and cut up the cauliflower ready for dipping. Hint: try and make them similar sizes, other wise, then they are frying in the oil, some will be burnt and some will not quite be cooked!

20170303_173157

I make mine in my wok, so I fry them in coconut oil. I only have two meals that involve frying things. This one and crispy chick’n nuggets. Because a) its just not healthy and b) frying things always scares the shit out of me because I always always scold myself on some over excited drops of oil that jump out of the pan at me!

You wont be able to fry all the cauliflower at once, unless you have a super large pan, which i dont. So I do it in batches. I have a plate and a napkin ready at the side to put the cauliflower on to rest while i am making the next batches. The paper towel will soak up some of the naughty oil.

Frying hacks: a few things I only discovered after scolding myself!

  • You dont need the oil on super high. Just high enough that when you drop in a drop of batter, it fries. then keep it low. Other wise the oil will jump out at you and it will burn the cauliflower anyway.
  • When you are turning the cauliflower around, take the pan off the heat. Otherwise it will super sizzle and the oil will jump out of the pan and burn you.
  • Scoop the batter crumbs out of the oil before you put the second batch in.
  • I only use the same oil for 2 batches, then i poured it away and put in fresh.

20170303_175152

While the cauliflower is cooking you can make the sauce. In a small tub, make the corn flour slurry. This is one tablespoon of cornflour and two tablespoons of water. Make it and stir it up. You will put this in the sauce when it comes to the boil. Make sure you stir it before you put it in because the cornflour settles into the bottom of it, and only water will go into your pan!

20170303_180045

Mix all your sauce ingredients together and pour into your pan. Bring your sauce to the boil. Add your slurry. Mix it through. THEN TAKE IT OFF THE HEAT!

The sauce is thick and sticky and its easier to put the cauliflower into the sauce one at a time, with prongs. Once its all in, you can gently stir it around until its all coated and then return it to the heat to all bubble together beautifully!

Tumble it out of the pan onto your plate.  Sprinkle sesame seeds over it.  Take a photo so everyone can see what an amazing sparkling vegan warrior you are.

20170303_180802

Enjoy

Love, Polly xx

3 thoughts on “Crispy sesame sriracha cauliflower wings”

Leave a Reply

